Sevilla crowned champion of Europa League

Comments (0)


Spanish club 'Sevilla' has clinched the UEFA Europa League title for 2013-14 after pipping Portuguese side Benfica by 4-2 on penalties in a goalless final.

Points to Know

  • It was the 3rd Europa League title for Sevilla; including the two titles earlier known as UEFA Cup (in 2005-6 & 2006-7).
  • Benfica jinx continued here with their eighth successive loss in a European final.

About UEFA Europa League

  • Europa League, organized by UEFA since 1971, is annual football championship for top European football clubs. 
  • Previously called the UEFA Cup, the competition has been known as the UEFA Europa League since the 2009–10 season.

Don't Miss

Maximum Titles: 

  • Four teams have captured it thrice namely Italian club Juventus and Italy Internazionale, England's Liverpool and Sevilla of Spain.

Previous Winner:

  • English side Chelsea

The title has been won by 27 different clubs, 12 of which have won the title more than once.


Its one of the 4 club championship organized by Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). The other 3 being...

  • UEFA Champions League
  • UEFA Super Cup
  • UEFA Youth League
Practice Questions