No one gets 'Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award' this year

Comments (0)


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, the topmost honour for a sportperson in India, finds no worthy hands this year.

Its only the second time in history after 1993-94 that the country could not find an able inheritor for it. On the other hand, there are 15 sportpersons, including cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin, to have been nominated for the Arjuna Award this year.

The final grant is subject to approval from Sports Ministry.

The glorious 15

  1. Ravichandran Ashwin (Cricket)
  2. Akhilesh Varma (archery) 
  3. Tintu Luka (athletics) 
  4. HN Girisha (paralympics)
  5. V Diju (badminton)
  6. Geetu Ann Jose (basketball)
  7. Jai Bhagwan (boxing)
  8. Anirban Lahiri (golf)
  9. Mamta Pujari (kabaddi)
  10. Saji Thomas (rowing)
  11. Heena Sidhu (shooting)
  12. Anaka Alankamony (squash)
  13. Tom Joseph (volleyball)
  14. Renubala Chanu (weightlifting) and 
  15. Sunil Rana (wrestling)

Instituted in 1961, the Arjuna awards are given every year for outstanding sporting achievements.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna:

  • The country's highest sporting honour consist of a medal, a scroll of honour and a cash prize of Rs. 750,000.
  • Instituted in the year 1991–92 to honour outstanding sporting excellence across various sports at world stage. 
  • It goes to an individual or a team, across all sporting disciplines in a given year.
  • Last Recipient : Ronjan Sodhi (Double trap shooter)
  • First Recipient : Viswanathan Anand (1991-92)
  • Maximum awards to: Shooting (7times)

Other National Sports Awards

Apart from the above 2, there are 3 more National Sports Awards: 

  • Dronacharya Awards - given to Coaches
  • Dhyan Chand Awards  - given for lifetime achievement in sports and games 
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar - given to organisations or person other than sportperson and coaches who contributes in development of sports in country. 

These are yet to be announced...

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees recieves statuettes, citation and Rs 5 Lakh. 
Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar are given trophies.

Practice Questions