Law and Justice Party won Poland’s Parliamentary Elections 2015

Comments (0)

Poland’s chief right-wing opposition party, Law and Justice party (PiS) which was out of power for nearly a decade has won the Polish parliamentary elections 2015 that were held on 25 October 2015 in Poland. Its leader Jaroslaw Kaczynski claimed victory, and the outgoing Prime Minister, Ewa Kopacz of the centrist Civic Platform, admitted defeat.

As per the electoral announced by Polish election body, the euroskeptic and opposition PiS party secured decisive 39.1 percent of the vote against the governing Civic Platform party which fetched 23.4 percent shares of vote. Law and Justice (PiS) has strong support in poorer, rural areas.

Three other parties also won enough votes to get seats in parliament: a new right-wing party led by rock star Pawel Kukiz with 8.8%; a new pro-business party, Modern Poland, with 7.6%; and the agrarian Polish People's Party with 5.1%

Comment :-

  • It was a historic victory for Law and Justice party (PiS) as it would be the first time a single party has won enough seats to govern alone since democracy was restored in 1989. There will be no left-wing party in parliament.

Electoral system of Poland :-

Poland has a multi-party political system, with numerous parties in which no one party often has a chance of gaining power alone, and parties must work with each other to form coalition governments. Poland elects on national level a head of state – the president – and a legislature. The president is elected for a five-year term by the people.The National Assembly has two chambers :-

  1. The parliament (Sejm)
  2. The Senate (Senat) 

The parliament (Sejm):-

  • The parliament (Sejm) has 460 members, elected for a four-year term by party lists in multi-seat constituencies with a 5% threshold for single parties and 8% threshold for coalitions, (requirement waived for national minorities). A party with 231 or more deputies representing the Parliament has an absolute majority and could thus without a coalition partner can govern autonomously.

The Senate (Senat) :-

  • The Senate (Senat) has 100 members elected for a four-year term via the first past-the-post system, with 100 single member constituencies. Prior to the 2011 parliamentary elections, elections to the Senate were conducted through plurality bloc voting in 40 multi-seat constituencies.


To be included on a ballot, a senate candidate must present 2000 signatures of support from their constituents. For Sejm elections, the threshold is 5000 signatures per constituency, though that requirement is waived for parties who have already registered lists in at least half of all constituencies. 


Practice Questions