Kate Atkinson wins Costa novel award, 2015

Comments (0)

English writer, Kate Atkinson has won the 2015 Costa novel award for the second time in three years for her novel “A God in Ruins”, the companion of her previous novel ‘Life After Life’,  which won the award in 2013.

With this Kate Atkinson  became the first British author to receive a Costa prize three times. Prior to this she had won it for Life After Life (2013) and Behind the Scenes at the Museum (1995).

Other category winners :

  1. Costa biography award: Historian and writer Andrea Wulf won the biography award for The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, The Lost Hero of Science
  2. Costa Poetry Award : Scottish poet Don Paterson won the poetry category for a second time for his "tour de force" collection titled 40 Sonnets. He last won the award 12 years ago
  3. Costa First Novel Award : Former teacher and librarian, Andrew Michael Hurley, who has won the first novel award for his debut, The Loney.
  4. Costa  children's book award : Young adult fiction and children's writer Frances Hardinge won the children's book award with The Lie Tree, a Victorian murder mystery.

About the Costa novel award :

The Costa Book Awards are a set of annual literary awards recognising English-language books by writers based in Britain and Ireland. It is the only major UK book prize that is open solely to authors resident in the UK.

The awards were inaugurated for 1971 publications and known as the Whitbread Book Awards but renamed as Costa novel award when n Costa Coffee, a subsidiary of Whitbread, took over sponsorship

The awards are given  for high literary merit and also for works that are enjoyable reading and whose aim is to convey the enjoyment of reading to the widest possible audience.

There are five book award categories which are : Novel, First novel, Children's book, Poetry and Biography. The winning books are selected from shortlists by five distinct panels of judge.

Award carries : Each of the five winning writers receives Pfund 5,000. One of the winning books is then named Costa Book of the Year with a further Pfund 25,000 prize.

Practice Questions