Important Wars And Battles in Indian History that will be Remembered Forever

Comments (0)
S.No Name of the Battle     Year  Importance
1.  Battle of Hydaspas 326 B.C.   Porus loses to Alexander
2. Kalinga War   261 B.C. Asoka wins but adapts Buddhism
3. Invasion of Sind 712 A.D.   Mohammed-bin-Qasim invades from the west
4. 1st battle of Tarain 1191 A.D.    Prithviraj Chauhan defeated Mohammed Ghori
5. 2nd battle of Tarain         1192 A.D.   Mohammad Ghori defeated Prithviraj Chauhan
6. 1st battle of Panipat       1526 A.D.      Babar defeated Ibrahim Lodi
7. Battle of Khanwa   1527 A.D.     Babur defeated Rana Sunga further strengthening his foothold in India
8. Battle of Ghaghra 1529  A.D.      Babur defeated Mahmud Lodi and Sultan Nusrat Shah thus establishing Mughal rule in India
9. Battle of Chausa     1539 A.D.           Sher Shah defeated Humayun thus breaking the Mughal rule in India
10. Battle of Kanauj or Billgram     1540 A.D.  Sher Shah defeated Humayun for the second time
11. 2nd battle of Panipat 1556 A.D.      Akbar defeated Hemu
12. 3rd battle of Panipat   1761 A.D.  Ahmed Shah Abdali defeated the Marathas
13. Battle of Talikota   1565 A.D.  Deccan Sultanates defeated the glorious Vijayanagar empire
14. Battle of Haldighati  1576 A.D.     Undecisive battle between Raja Man Singh of Mughal Army and Rana Pratap of Mewar
15. Battle of Plassey   1757 A.D.   British defeated Siraj-ud-duala with the help of Mir Zafar. This battle laid the foundation of British empire in India
16. Battle of Wandiwash 1760 A.D.  British decisively defeated the French in India. The Seven years war (1756 - 1763) between the British and the French in Europe ran parallel to this war.Three Carnatic wars were fought between the British and the French and this battle was a part of the 3rd Carnatic War        
17. Battle of Buxar  1764 A.D.  British defeated the combined forces of Mir Qasim, Shuja-ud-duala (Nawab of Oudh) and Shah Alam II(Mughal emperor). 
18. Battle of Samugarh  1658 A.D.  Aurangzeb defeated Dara Shikoh
19. Battle of Karnal    1739 A.D.      Nadir Shah defeated Mughal Emperor Muhammad Shah
20. Mewar submitted to the Mughals 1615 A.D.   Mewar submitted to the Mughals
21.  Mughal-Safavid War      1649 A.D.  Peace treaty signed between Jahangiri and Rana Amar Singh of Mewar.
22. Battle of Khed   1708 A.D.    Shahu defeats Tara Bai.
23. First Anglo Mysore War 1767-69 A.D.   Hyder Ali defeats English forces
24.  First Anglo Maratha War  1766-69 A.D. British defeated
25 Battle of Udgir   1770 A.D.   Marathas defeat the Nizam
26. Second Anglo Mysore War  1780-84 A.D. Hyder Ali dies. Treaty of Mangalore is signed
27. Third Anglo Mysore War  1789-92 A.D.    Tipu Sultan defeated. Treaty of Serirangapatnam is signed.
28. Fourth Anglo Mysore War   1799 A.D.  Tipu Sultan is defeated and killed
29. Second Anglo Maratha War 1803-06 A.D.  Marathas lose to the British
30. Third Anglo Maratha War  1817-19 A.D     Marathas lose to the British again
31. First Anglo Burmese War 1824-26 A.D.  British win over Burmese.
32. First Anglo Afghan War   1839-42 A.D.  British defeat Afghan ruler Dost Mohammad
33.  First Anglo Sikh War     1845-46 A.D.    Sikhs lose to the British
34. Second Anglo Sikh War  1848-49 A.D.   Punjab annexed by the British
35. Second Anglo Burmese War 1852 A.D. British win the war
36. Third Angio Burmese War  1865 A.D. British win and Burma is annexed
37. Second Anglo Afghan War 1868-80 A.D.  Treaty of Gandamak is signed   
38. Third Anglo Afghan War 1919-21 A.D.    Ended in an Artimice. Durand line established.


Practice Questions