Gujarati Litterateur Raghuveer Chaudhary honoured with 2015 Jnanpith Award

Comments (0)

Noted Gujarati writer Raghuveer Chaudhary -- a poet, novelist and critic -- who occpies a unique place in Gujarati literature, has been selected for the 51st Jnanpith award for his contribution to Indian literature. Mr. Chaudhary is the fourth Gujarati writer to bag this prestigious award after Uma Shankar Joshi (1967), Pannalal Patel (1985) and Rajendra Shah (2001).

The decision in this regard was taken at a meeting of the Jnanpith Selection Board which comprised of eminent writer and critic Prof Namwar Singh, Prof Shamim Hanfi, Harish Trivedi, Prof Suranjan Das, Ramakant Rath, Chandrakant Patil, Prof. Alok Rai, Dinesh Misra and Leeladhar Mandloi.

About Raghuveer Chaudhary :

Raghuveer Chaudhari was born on 5 December 1938, in Bapupura village near Gandhinagar, Gujarat. He started his career writing novels and poetry, and later ventured into other forms of literature. 

Popular works: He has written more than eighty books including novels, poetry, plays and literary criticism. His popular novels include "Amrita", "Venu Vatsala", "Purvarang", "Laagni Samjyaa Vinaa Chuuta Padvanu" and others. His most-known novel "Amrita" (1965) explores the concept of existentialism, other works like "Rudramahalaya" (1978) and "Somtirth" (1996) are historical fiction

He has also worked as a columnist for many newspapers, such as Sandesh, Janmabhumi, Nirikshaka and Divya Bhaskar. He served as a teacher at the Gujarat University until his retirement in 1998. 

Awards and Honours: He was awarded the Sahitya Akademi award for his novel trilogy Uparvas in 1977. During 1965 to 1970 he won numerous prizes awarded annually by the State of Gujarat.

About Jnanpith Award :

  • The Jnanpith Award along with  Sahitya Akademi Award is one of the two most prestigious literary honours in the country. 
  • The award was instituted in 1961 and is presented annually by Bharatiya Jnanpith trust founded by the Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family.
  • Prior to 1982, the award was only given for a single work by a writer. But after 1982, the award is given for lifetime contribution to Indian literature.
  • Eligibility : Any Indian citizen who writes in one of the 22 languages listed in Schedule Eight of the Indian constitution
  • Award Carries: It includes cash prize of 11 lakh rupees, a citation plaque and a bronze replica of Saraswati


Practice Questions