Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2014 awarded

Comments (0)

UNESCO Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2014 goes to Turkish investigative journalist Ahmet Sik.   

About the Prize

  • UNESCO celebrate the World Press Freedom Day (May 3) every year by giving this award to individuals/institutions who have contributed significantly in upholding the right to freedom of expression especially amidst grave threat/danger to life.
  • The Prize was created in 1997 by UNESCO’s Executive Board. 

Who is Guillermo Cano??

  • The prize is a tribute to the Guillermo Cano Isaza - a slain Colombian journalist - who was murdered in the capital Bogota (17 December 1986) as his writings had offended the nation's powerful drug barons.

The Selection

  • Candidates are proposed by UNESCO Member States, and regional or international organizations active in the fields of journalism and freedom of expression.
  • Laureates are chosen by a jury of media professionals whose members are appointed for a once renewable three-year term by the Director-General of UNESCO.
Practice Questions