Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden and Kazakhstan elected non-permanent UNSC members

Comments (0)

Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden have been elected  as the non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a two-year period beginning in January, 2017. They will replace Spain, Malaysia, New Zealand, Angola and Venezuela. 

Italy and the Netherlands had been vying for the one remaining seat, but the voting yielded no clear winner so they have proposed to split a two-year term on the UN Security Council. In the voting each received 95 votes.

The 193-member UN body conducted the elections for five non-permanent seats, which included one seat for the African Group, one seat for the Group of Asia and the Pacific small island developing states, one seat for the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, and two seats for the Western European and Others Group.

The voting for these countries in the UNGA was conducted by secret ballot in which members of the UNGA had voted. 

Bolivia (183 votes) and Ethiopia (185 votes) were chosen from Group of Latin America and the Caribbean and Africa region respectively. 

Sweden (134 votes) won from the Group of Western Europe. Kazakhstan won from the Group of Asia Pacific against Thailand

United Nations Security Council (UNSC) 

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the five principal organs of the United Nations, charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to its United Nations Charter. Its powers include:

  • The establishment of peacekeeping operations.
  • The establishment of international sanctions.
  • The authorization of military action through Security Council resolutions.
  • It is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states. 

It consists of five permanent, veto-wielding members and 10 non-permanent members. The permanent members are China, Russia, France, UK and US while the non-permanent seats are allocated according to a rotation pattern set by the Assembly back in 1963, to ensure a proportionate representation over time from different parts of the world.

Of the 10 members, 5 are from African and Asian states, 1 from Eastern European states, 2 from Latin American states and 2 from Western European and Other states.

Practice Questions