BJP celebrates its 35th foundation day

Comments (0)

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)  the world's largest party in terms of membership celebrates the 35th anniversary of its foundation day today on April 6, 2015. The BJP is a right-wing party, with close ideological and organisational links to the Hindu nationalist Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. 

Foundation of BJP

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was originally known as Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS),  formed in 1951 by Syama Prasad Mookerjee. After the State of Emergency in 1977, the Jana Sangh merged with several other parties to form the Janata Party.

BJS fought and won its first election in 1977 where the party won with 345 seats. Morarji Desai became the Prime Minister of India with Indira Gandhi being the leader of opposition.

BJP was founded on April 6, 1980 after the Janata party dissolved and the  members of the erstwhile Jana Sangh converged to form the BJP. It was initially unsuccessful, winning only two seats in the 1984 general election.

Ideology: Integral humanism, Conservatism, Hindu nationalism, Gandhian socialism, Hindutva
Headquarters: 11 Ashoka Road, New Delhi
International affiliation : (i) International Democratic Union (ii) Asia Pacific Democrat Union
Newspaper : Kamal Sandesh

National Democratic Alliance

National Democratic Alliance (NDA) was founded in 1998.  BJP leads NDA which is the coalition of various political parties of India. After the 1998 general election, the BJP-led NDA  formed a government under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee for a year.

Following fresh elections, the NDA government, again headed by Vajpayee, lasted for a full term in office, this was the first non-Congress government to do so but again in the 2004 general election, the NDA suffered an unexpected defeat, and was the principal opposition party for next ten years.

Current scenario :

In the 2014 Indian general election, the BJP won 282 seats, leading the NDA to a tally of 336 seats in the 543-seat Lok Sabha. Today BJP holds 281 seats out of 545 seats in Lok Sabha and 48 seats out of 245 seats in Rajya Sabha.

BJP is the country's largest political party in terms of representation in the national parliament and state assemblies and  the world's largest party in terms of primary membership. It has  more than a 110 million members, surpassing the Communist Party of China.

Leadership : The party chairperson of BJP is Amit Shah and the Parliamentary chairperson is Narendra Modi. BJP's Lok Sabha leader is Narendra Modi and Rajya Sabha's leader is Arun Jaitley.

Practice Questions