24 young heroes to get National Bravery Awards 2014

Comments (0)


Twenty-four children - 8 girls and 16 boys - have been selected for the National Bravery Awards for the year 2014.

The Prize honours and recognizes extreme gallantry by the young ones in the face of danger.

Four of the honourees are no longer alive as they lost their lives during the gallant retaliation against the danger and evil.

The awards, as per the tradition, will be distributed by Prime Minister on the eve of Republic Day.

Key Points

  • The awardees will receive a medal, certificate and cash. Recipients also get financial assistance until the completion of their schooling.
  • Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, the ICCW has given awards to 895 brave children - 634 boys and 261 girls.

Awards categories

  • The National Bravery Awards: Instituted by the ICCW in 1957 for an exceptionally outstanding, meritorious and gallant deed.
  • The Bharat Award: Awarded since 1987
  • Geeta Chopra and Sanjay Chopra Awards: Instituted by ICCW in 1978 in fond memory of the brother-sister duo who died at the hands of Ranga Billa way back in 1978 in Delhi
  • Bapu Gaidhani Awards: Instituted in 1988 by ICCW.
Practice Questions