President Pranab Mukherjee conferred Infosys Prize 2015

Comments (0)

President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the Infosys Prizes in New Delhi for the year 2015. The prize was conferred upon six winners for their outstanding contribution in the research fields. These six winners are Umesh Waghmare, Jonardon Ganeri, Amit Sharma, Mahan Maharaj, G. Ravindra Kumar and Srinath Raghavan.

Winners of  Infosys Prize 2015

♦ Jonardon Ganeri : He has been awarded in Humanities category for his outstanding work in interpreting and scrutinizing analytical Indian Philosophy. He is Professor at Global Network and Visiting Professor of Philosophy, New York University and Recurrent Visiting Professor, Department of Philosophy, King’s College London.

♦ Umesh Waghmare : He was awarded in Engineering and Computer Science category for his innovative use of first-principles theories and modelling of certain materials such as topological insulators, multiferroics, ferroelectrics and graphene. He is Professor of Theoretical Sciences Unit, of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore.

♦ Mahan Maharaj : He was awarded in Mathematical Sciences category for establishing a central conjecture in the Thurston program to study hyperbolic 3-manifolds and introduced important new tools to study fundamental groups of complex manifolds. He is Professor of Mathematics at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

♦ Amit Sharma : He was awarded in Life Sciences category for his contributions towards deciphering the molecular structure, at the atomic level, of key proteins involved in the biology of pathogenesis of the deadly malarial parasite. He is Group Leader, Structural and Computational Biology Group, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi.

♦ Srinath Raghavan : He was awarded in Social Sciences category for his outstanding research that synthesizes military history, international politics, and strategic analysis into powerful and imaginative perspectives on India in global context. He is Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi.

 Ravindra Kumar : He was awarded in Physical Sciences category for his contributions to the physics of high intensity laser matter interactions. He is Professor in the Department of Nuclear and Atomic Physics (DNAP), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai.

About Infosys Prize

♦ The Infosys Prize is an annual award given to scientists, researchers, engineers and social scientists in India by the Infosys Science Foundation (ISF). The Prize is given across six categories Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Humanities.

♦  It ranks among the highest monetary awards in India to recognize scientific research as each category prize carries a 22-carat gold medallion, a citation certificate and prize money of 65 Lakh rupees. It is one of the highest monetary awards in India that recognize the scientific research.

Practice Questions