Denis Mukwege wins Sakharov prize 2014

Comments (0)


Sakharov prize 2014, Europe's top human rights award, goes to DR Congo doctor Denis Mukwege.  

The gynaecologist is honoured for helping thousands of gang rape victims in the war-torn country.

Points to Remeber

  • The prize - named after famous Soviet scientist and dissident Andrei Sakharov - is given for the promotion of human rights and democracy around the world.
  • He is considered to be the father of the Soviet hydrogen bomb. 
  • Later, concerned at the likely implication of nuclear arms on humans, he started raising awareness about dangers of nuclear arms race.

About the Prize

  • The 50,000 euro annual prize is officially known as Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought.
  • It was established by European Parliament in December 1988 to honour the individuals /organizations for defending the human rights and freedom of expression.
  • Its given on December 10.

List of Notable prize winners:

  • 2013 Malala Yousafzai
  • 2012 Nasrin Sotoudeh and Jafar Panahi
  • 2011 Arab Spring activists
  • 2008 Hu Jia (Chinese Dissident)
  • 2003 UN Secretary General, Kofi Annan, and all UN staff
  • 1994 Taslima Nasreen
  • 1990 Aung San Suu Kyi
  • 1988 (First Sakharov Prize) Nelson Mandela and Anatoli Marchenko (posthumously)
Practice Questions