69th BAFTA Awards 2016 : Complete list of winners

Comments (0)

The 69th British Academy Film Awards were held on 14 February 2016 at the Royal Opera House in London to honour the the outstanding performances in films and documentaries screened at British Cinemas in 2015. The awards were presented by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA).

69th Annual BAFTA Awards 2016
S.No. Category Winner
1. Best Film The Revenant
2. Outstanding British Film Brooklyn
3. Best Director Alejandro G. Inarritu - The Revenant
4. Best Actor Leonardo DiCaprio - The Revenant
5. Best Actress Brie Larson - Room
6. Best Supporting Actor Mark Rylance - Bridge of Spies
7. Best Supporting Actress Kate Winslet - Steve Jobs
8. Best Original Screenplay Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer - Spotlight
9. Best Adapted Screenplay Adam McKay and Charles Randolph -The Big Short
10. Best Editing Margaret Sixel- Mad Max: Fury Road 
11. Best Cinematography Emmanuel Lubezki - The Revenant
12. Best Production Design Mad Max: Fury Road
13. Best Costume Design Jenny Beavan - Mad Max: Fury Road
14. Best Original Music Ennio Morricone - The Hateful Eight
15. Best Makeup and Hair Damian Martin and Lesley Vanderwalt - Mad Max: Fury Road
16. Best Sound The Revenant
17. Best Visual Effects Star Wars: The Force Awakens
18. Best Film Not in the English Language Wild Tales - Argentina
19. Best Animated Film Inside Out
20 Best Documentary Amy
21. Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director, or Producer  Naji Abu Nowar (Writer/Director) and Rupert Lloyd (Producer) – Theeb
22. Best British Short Film Edmond
23. The EE Rising Star Award John Boyega
24. Most awards The Revenant (5 wins)
25. Most nominations Bridge of Spies and Carol (9 nominations each)

British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA)

British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) honours the art forms of the moving image – film, television and video games – by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public.

  • Established: 1947. 
  • Headquarters: London. 
  • Chairman: Anne Morrison.
Practice Questions